Boys’ soccer kicks off season with 3 wins


Nina Garcia

The boys' soccer record is currently 3-3.

Led by coaches Mr. Michael Furino and Mr. Michael Capelao, the Becton Boys’ Soccer Team is starting off their fall season strong with an 11-1 win against St Mary’s on September 8, a 6-1 win against Weehawken and a 3-1 victory against Wood Ridge. Their current record is 3-3.

Senior Steven Dematteo remarked, “ I feel like we had a good game against Weehawken, but Wallington is our biggest competition and they are a tough team to beat. But as a team, we bounced back Monday night and beat Wood-Ridge.”

In a recent interview with captains Rafael Kuc and Tomasz Mierzwa, they stated that they are“confident in their abilities to lead the team.” With more than a decade of playing, Rafael’s goal this year is to play his best season yet. He will be playing forward, who is the person mainly responsible for scoring, and is therefore, a main offensive players.

So far, Rafael has scored twelve goals and one assist. He scored a hat trick, which is scoring three goals in a row, during their game against Weehawken. The senior recounts, “This is probably my last year playing soccer completely. My goal is to play to the best of my ability and lead the team to a successful season.”

Tomasz’s goal this year is to win the league and help Becton receive their first soccer banner ever. He has currently scored three goals and seven assists. Tomasz said, “I feel like I am a team player who can cover the field at all times, making me a versatile and a key asset to the team.”  He does, however, stay mainly between the team’s defense and offense.

Both captains felt their first game went well against St Mary’s. Tomasz also added, “Hasbrouck Heights and Wallington are a tough team, and even though we did not get the results we wanted when we played Wallington, we hope to play them again and do better.”

After losing four seniors, the team was able to fill those vacancies with this year’s twelve upperclassmen. The seniors this year are Simon Chan, Carlos Mercado, Steven Dematteo, Kyrillos Demian, Alan Saad, Jonathan Barrios, Rafael Kuc, Tomasz Mierzwa, Seamus Cahill, Jonathan-Flore and Jeremy O’Brien.